Nominations for York and North Yorkshire mayoral election close

6 April 2024

Six candidates will contest the election for the first mayor for York and North Yorkshire.

Nominations for the mayor, who will oversee the York and North Yorkshire Combined Authority which launched on 1 February 2024, have closed. Voters will go to the polls on Thursday, 2 May 2024.

The candidates are:

  • Cunliffe-Lister, Felicity Clare – Liberal Democrats
  • Duncan, Keane Charles – The Conservative Party Candidate
  • Foster, Kevin – The Green Party candidate
  • Haslam, Paul – Independent
  • Skaith, David – Labour and Co-operative Party
  • Tordoff, Keith Graham – Independent

Voting will take place from 7am to 10pm with the election count held on Friday, 3 May 2024, the day after the election.

Voters attending the polling station for the election on 2 May will need to bring photographic identification in order to be able to vote.

Residents have until midnight on Tuesday, 16 April 2024, to register to vote and until 5pm on Wednesday, 17 April 2024, to apply for a postal vote.

Anyone without a suitable photo ID can apply for a free voter authority certificate before 5pm on Wednesday, 24 April.

More information is available at and at online.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop