Thought Bubble announces new guests for 2020

27 February 2020

Thought Bubble, the UK’s largest comic art festival has announced even more amazing guests for this year’s comic con, scheduled to take place at Harrogate Convention Centre on 14-15 November 2020.

Among the new guests making the trip to Harrogate in November is Alice Oseman, the creator of the hugely popular LGBTQ+ young adult romance webcomic ‘Heartstopper’. Originally Kickstarter-supported and self-published, ‘Heartstopper’ now boasts a dedicated international following and an exciting TV adaptation currently in the works from See-Saw Films.

Joining Alice at Thought Bubble will be Eisner-nominated, New York Times best seller Cecil Castellucci, acclaimed British artist and The Walking Dead penciller Charlie Adlard as well as another New York Times bestseller, British artist Jock and Batman / DC writer James Tynion IV alongside many more.

These new names will join a host of previously announced guests including acclaimed Eisner Award winning American author & comic writer Joe Hill, creator of hit Netflix series ‘Locke & Key’, Canadian artist & writer Chip Zdarsky, who has worked on multiple Spiderman projects as well as Daredevil, Howard The Duck and Jughead for Archie Comics and G Willow Wilson, the Cairo based writer who created Marvel’s first Muslim character to headline a comic book with her acclaimed ‘Ms Marvel’ series.

Founded by acclaimed comic artist Lisa Wood (aka Tula Lotay) in 2007, Thought Bubble initially took place in the basement of Leeds Town Hall. Over the years the festival has grown massively and thanks to an unerring focus on comic art and a desire to push the industry to create more inclusive and diverse spaces, they have become one of the most important events for artists, writers and fans all across the world.

After over a decade in their beloved Leeds, in 2019 Thought Bubble took the decision to relocate their comic con to the massive Harrogate Convention Centre, just North of their West Yorkshire home, the move proved to be a resounding success with an estimated footfall of 15,000 visitors across the weekend alone for one their biggest festivals yet.

 Chloe Green ,Thought Bubble Festival Manager:

Our guest list has a bit of everything for everyone! A cool mix of classic DC, Marvel and 2000AD artists and writers, alongside wonderful webcomic creator Alice Oseman, the amazing Zainab Akhtar whose ShortBox continues to bring the most exciting small press comics to print, and then everything in between!

It encapsulates what Thought Bubble is all about and we can’t wait to have them join us and thousands of other fans in November!

Newly Announced Guests:

  • Alice Oseman
  • Cecil Castellucci
  • Charlie Adlard
  • Jock
  • James Tynion IV
  • Ben Oliver
  • Christian Ward
  • Andy Belanger
  • Sean Phillips
  • Zainab Akhtar
  • Duncan Fegredo
  • Abz-J-Harding
  • Sarah Graley
  • Previously Announced 2020 Guests:
  • Joe Hill
  • Chip Zdarsky
  • G Willow Wilson
  • Ronald Wimbley
  • Becky Cloonan
  • Sara Alfageeh
  • Babs Tarr
  • Rafael Albuquerque
  • Emma Rios
  • More guests, events & exhibitors TBA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop