Richard Casement, Matthew Clark with Edi Smith, Monteys Rock Cafe
Richard Casement, Matthew Clark with Edi Smith, Monteys Rock Cafe

Shortlist announced for Hospitality and Tourism Awards Night

23 April 2015

Harrogate Hospitality & Tourism Award organisers have announced the shortlist for each of the nine categories in their awards scheme which will be presented at a spectacular gala dinner taking place at the Royal Hall on 1 June 2015.

Category sponsors and organisers were in town this week to meet some of the nominees after having deliberated long & hard over some very tough decisions because of the excellent quality of the nominations again this year with over 900 received in total.

The awards, now in their seventh year, are organised and hosted by Destination Harrogate, the association of the leading hotels of the town.

David Ritson, Chair of Destination Harrogate, added: Seven years in to running these awards it is clear from the number of entries we received again this year, that these awards have truly captured the imagination of those working in, or affected by hospitality and tourism, and shows what a major industry it is for the town. As the quality of the votes improves we have been keen to go and see these ‘stars’ in action and it is great to see their faces when they realise their hard work has been appreciated. Harrogate relies heavily on both business and leisure tourism and everyone involved in the chain of visitor service delivery play their part in continuing to deliver the excellent standards of service and hospitality associated with Harrogate.
Simon Cotton, General Manager, Cedar Court Hotel and Vice Chair of Destination Harrogate commented: The judges were once again impressed by the level and quality of entries this year and it took a lot of deliberating to decide who would make the short list. There were a lot of categories where it was really hard to have to leave out some really fantastic entries and I only hope that those who haven’t made it this year to the short list will try again next year. To ensure we had the best candidates shortlisted several sponsors visited the nominees at their place of work and spent some time to see them in action and talk to them about their jobs. There is no doubt that the awards night on Monday 1st June will once again be a quick sell out and continue to build upon the huge success that it has been in the past.
If you would like to come and support those shortlisted, tickets are available through Sian Craig Tel 01423 858585 costing £55 per person. Demand for tickets is already very high and usually sell out within 2 weeks of the shortlist being announced so please book early to avoid disappointment.

Alan Souter, National Account Manager Harrogate Spring Water with Beck Colley, Drum & Monkey
The judging panel’s shortlists for each category are:

Waiter/Waitress of the Year – sponsored by Harrogate Spring Water
Catherine Wainwright– Restaurant, Bar & Grill
Becky Colley – The Drum & Monkey
Lisa Tait – The Pit
Helen Mariner – Guy Fawkes
Jessica Faigowski – Baltzersen’s Cafe

Bar Person of the Year – sponsored by Matthew Clark
Edi Smith – Monteys Rock Cafe
Mathew Sewell – Moko Lounge
Neil Young – Holiday Inn
Daniel Howard – The Coach & Horses
Catherine Banner – The Den

Chef of the Year – sponsored by Sykes House Farm
Murray Wilson – Norse
Tom Van Zellar – Van Zellars
Mike Kernall – MK Catering
Dean Sowden – Deanos Graze and Grill

Team of the Year – sponsored by Platinum Print
Christmas Lights
Stockheld Park
Yorkshire Meatball Company
Harrogate International Festivals

Newcomer of the Year – sponsored by Harrogate College
West Park hotel
Major Toms

Unsung Hero – sponsored by Destination Harrogate
John Wrightson – Bilton Working Mens Club
Iain Kilpatrick – Hotel Du Vin
Natalie Iancosova – Cedar Court Hotel
Colin Ward – Knaresborough Tourist Information Centre
Elaine Long – Grants hotel

Best Achievement of the Year – sponsored by Blueline Taxis
Harrogate International Centre – Harrogate, Sales growth
Jenny Sutton – Crown hotel, Sales growth
Railway Line Supporters Group – Harrogate Trains, Service improvement
Harrogate International Festivals – Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival
The Spotty House – Knaresborough, Promoting the region

Outstanding Customer Service – sponsored by Leeds Bradford Int. Airport
Louise Garbutt – Queens Head, Kettlesing
Bob Marcroft – Turkish Baths
Katie Jo Freer – Yorkshire Hotel
Vania Azevedo – Rudding Park
Gareth Vowles – The Pit
Harrogate Ambassador – sponsored by Harrogate Chamber of Trade & Commerce

The winner of this special Award is to be announced on the night.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop