Harrogate Open Exhibition announces 2012 winners

5 mins read
Please share the news

The long awaited Open Exhibition 2012, now open at The Mercer Art Gallery has just announced their 2012 prize-winners. This ever popular show, a showcase for the district’s talented artists, features 206 works in a wide range of media, from paintings and prints, to sculpture, jewellery and ceramics.

Artists entered altogether 612 works of art for the Harrogate Open, from which the panel selected 206 works. The exhibition also has a prize fund of £1,000 generously sponsored by the Friends of the Mercer Art Gallery.

This year’s winner of the £200 top prize is Otley based Julia Odell with her painting Nithering Almscliffe. Second prize £100 goes to painter Daren Higham, also based in Otley, for Edgelands Cont.

The selectors were Harrogate artist Adam King, freelance curator, Caroline Krzesinska, and Jane Sellars, Curator of Art for .

This is also a chance to vote for your favourite piece of artwork for the People’s Prize.


Jane Sellars comments:

Visit the exhibition and vote for the artwork you like the best to help it win a prize of £100 donated by the Friends of the Mercer Art Gallery. Admission is free and all works are for sale at affordable prices.


The Harrogate open 2012 runs until 20 January 2013 with opening times: Tues – Sat 10.00 am to 5.00 pm, Sun 2.00 pm to 5.00 pm Admission Free.

The Mercer Art Gallery is home to Harrogate district’s fine art collection which consists of some 2000 works of art, mainly from the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection includes works by William Powell Frith, Atkinson Grimshaw, Sir Edward Burne-Jones, Dame Laura Knight, Alan Davie and many more. The collection is not on permanent display. Paintings, prints and drawings from it are featured in our lively and diverse exhibition programme throughout the year.

The gallery has two spaces, the Main Gallery and the smaller North Gallery. The exhibition will also launch the complete renovation of the interior of the gallery.

As well as the main prizes six artists won special commendations £50 each:

  • Laney Birkhead for her print Last rays soaking in bulrushes moorhens cry.
  • Piers Browne for his oil painting Evening Sunburst Evening Sunburst over Wensleydale at daytime for Whitfield Scar.
  • Caroline Machray for her drawing Composed.
  • Andrea Newall for her gouache Self Portrait.
  • Mike Robson for his drawing and painting of Graham Towers’ De Havilland Tiger Moth.
  • Richard Turner for his ceramic sculpture The Baselisk.



    Mike Robson for his drawing and painting of Graham Towers’ De Havilland Tiger Moth
Mike Robson for his drawing and painting of Graham Towers’ De Havilland Tiger Moth


    This year’s winner of the £200 top prize is OTLEY based Julia Odell with her painting Nithering Almscliffe
This year’s winner of the £200 top prize is OTLEY based Julia Odell with her painting Nithering Almscliffe


Second prize £100 goes to painter Daren Higham -Edgelands
Second prize £100 goes to painter Daren Higham -Edgelands


Caroline Machray for her drawing Composed
Caroline Machray for her drawing Composed



The artists whose work has been selected for the 2012 Harrogate Open are:

Brian Anson
Cliff Barker
Josie Beszant
Sue Bird
Laney Birkhead
Paula Bishop
Jaki Bogg
Susan Broadhurst
Gordon Broadhurst
Victoria Brookland
Piers Browne
Gareth Burkhill-Howarth
Jane Burnley
Robbie Burns
Barbara Cassell
Helen Cassidy
Leslie Child
Margaret Clapperton
Jason Clements
Simon Crawford
Martin Curzon
Kenneth Dalton
Simon Dawson
Angela Dawson
Clive Day
Nicole Dickinson
Heather Dormer
Len Downes
Gillian L Dunsmore
Helen Enty
John Exley
Azu Fletcher
Heather G Foster
Manchula Foulkes
Tim Frankland
Linzi Froggatt
Sarah Garforth
Rosalind Gascoyne
Sue Gell
Margaret Gilbert
Margaret Glackin
Joy Godfrey
Ronald Gordon
Lesley Gore
Clare Granger
Ben Greenwood
Cynthia Griffiths
Carole Griffiths
Pam Grimmond
George Hainsworth
Lucy Hainsworth
Kathy Hammond
Keiko Harada
Makiko Hastings
Kevin Haynes
Diana Henderson
Henshaw’s College 2nd Year
Nicky Henson
Daren Higham
Janet Hollins
Katherine Horner
Annette Jeffery
Rebecca Johnson
Carole Jones
Wendy B Jones
Ann Joslin
Paul Keen
Gill Kirk
Denise Koumentakis
Caroline Lambert
Kay Latto
Colin Lee
Myles Linley
Maureen Little
Terry Logan
Joan Love
Liz Lund
Niki Lyons-Montgomery
Caroline Machray
Emerson Mayes
Suzanne McIvor
Beverley McNab
Moira McTague
Martin Meyrick
David Morris
Margaret Morris
Diane Morris
Denise Mullen
Chris Murray
Andrea Newall
Julia Odell
Blabinder Olak
John Page
Guy Parker
Janet Paver-Campbell
David Perks
C J Philipson
Barry Pickersgill
Linda Pieters
Julia Potter
Alex Purves
Michael Raho
Olivia Reece
Biba J Reid
Mike Robson
Joyce Rowland
Austin Ruddy
Cynthia Runzo
Chris Rymer
Carolyn Salmon
Caroline Salter
Ian Schofield
Malcolm Scott
Ian Scott Massie
Rosie Scott-Massie
Simon Sellars
Mike Sims
Martin Sloan
Sue Slocombe
Anne Christine Spence
Jack Stancombe
Alison Stimpson
Catherine Sutcliffe-Fuller
Ian C Taylor
John Temperley
Bridget Tempest Michael Thornton
Chris Tolley
Nicky Tudor
Anne Turner
Gwen Turner
Jean Turner
Richard Turner
Reina Van Den Hoek
Doug Wales
Fergus Watson-West
William Watson-West
Bridget Watts
Helen Wheatley
Stuart Whitehead
Marcia Whitham
Jan Wilkins
Joanna Wilkinson
Ruth Wilksinson
Graeme Willson
Peter Wildon
Anuska Wittman
Brenda Wright
Rebecca Wright
Janet Yeun Jay


Please share the news


Support the Harrogate Informer

The Harrogate Informer is asking our readers to support local independent journalism.

We are editorially independent and publish without bias or influence – there is not a rich investor or shareholders that we answer to.

Good journalism is a valuable part of a community, but we want to do more.

Good journalism is about meeting people and covering a story. Our aim is to offer a wide range of news items and present them in an interesting way for all ages.

We are asking our readers to make a small donation, either as a one-off donation or a regular donation each month. Support can be from as little as £1

All contributions are appreciated, whether big or small. It enables us to expand the work that we are already doing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

High value bicycles stolen in Harrogate

Next Story

Live music at the Royal Hall with Ian Hunter, Eddi Reader and Paul Carrack