Twelve Special Constables join North Yorkshire Police with five for Harrogate

Please share the news

The ranks of the Special Constabulary across North Yorkshire and the City of were given a boost at a recent attestation ceremony in Northallerton.

It took place at Northallerton Magistrates’ Court on Wednesday 1 August 2012. The 12 new officers were sworn in by Chair of the Bench Ms Anna Ramsden and Justice of the Peace, Mr John Bacon. The ceremony was hosted by Assistant Chief Constable of North Yorkshire , Iain Spittal.

The guest of honour was the Deputy Lieutenant for North Yorkshire and former High Sheriff for North Yorkshire, Mrs Alexandra Holford.


Twelve Special Constables join North Yorkshire Police with five for Harrogate
Twelve Special Constables join North Yorkshire with five for Harrogate


Other guests at the included the Specials Strategic Officer, Jerry Holland, Safer Neighbourhood Commanders, Superintendent Andy McMillan (Hambleton and Richmondshire) Chief Inspector Simon Lovell (Craven), and the head of the Communications Command Superintendent Richard Anderson.

The officers who will based at Harrogate, , , Richmond, and Bedale come from a wide range of backgrounds including a manager, an artisan baker, a civil engineer, a child minder and a former member of the armed services.

ACC Iain Spittal, said:

It always gives me great pleasure to welcome all new officers into North Yorkshire Police. I am especially pleased to welcome those who volunteer, giving their own time working as Special Constables.

The new officers bring a wealth of knowledge and experience with them from their day jobs.

I know that the regular colleagues the specials will work alongside greatly value and appreciate the contribution they give.

North Yorkshire Police is currently recruiting Special Constables who will start training in early 2013. For more information about the Special Constabulary please visit


The newly attested specials will be based at:



SC 2116 Danielle Abel

SC 2257 James Brown

SC 2127 Lucy Irwin

SC 2126 Jonathan Penkett

SC 2125 Louise Ruddick


SC 2255 Jason Emery



SC 2258 Thomas Hawkshaw

SC 2115 Samantha Sharp



SC 2252 Jenn Moore

SC 2253 Daniel Stubbs


SC 2114 William Moyle



SC 2254 Susannah Vickers


Please share the news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Mobile Speed Van
Previous Story

Thirteen speeders summonsed to court

Next Story

Remedial road repairs in Harrogate and Knaresborough