Harrogate Philharmonic Orchestra
Harrogate Philharmonic Orchestra in 2020

Harrogate Philharmonic Orchestra Summer Concert.

6 July 2022

Harrogate Philharmonic Orchestra  welcomes Yanni Daoutis as our guest conductor – Yanni has supported the orchestra throughout the last two years.

  • Saturday 9 July at 7:30pm at St Marks Church, Leeds Road, Harrogate

Richard Strauss’ Le Bourgeois gentilhomme is a demanding work on the orchestra in nine parts depicting Moliere’s all singing, all dancing comedie-ballet.

A satire on the aspirations of the wealthy middle class. Our orchestra is delightfully augmented by harp, piano, trumpet, trombone and contrabassoon as we join the wealthy merchant M. Jordain through his accomplishments of music, dancing the minuet, fencing and the feast he hosts depicted in the final movement.

Complementing the comedy of Strauss we have Dvorak’s Czech suite depicting countryside and birdsong. A work of five movements, three of which are traditional Czech dances and two are descriptive of the Bohemian countryside. A romance with lyrical melodies as delightful to listen to as they are to play.

Tickets are available in advance only from www.harrogatephilharmonicorchestra.org.uk (with Paypal), priced at £12 adults, £5 students with cards and under 16s and carers assisting wheelchair users are free.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop