Wrexham 0 – 2 Harrogate Town


A brace of headers from new striker, Mark Beck, propelled Harrogate Town into the second round of the Buildbase F A Trophy, with victory over National League, Wrexham.

Lloyd Kerry made a welcome return to the Town starting line up after an injury ravaged nine months.

Town made a bright start against a Wrexham side lacking several regulars and home keeper, Christian Dibble, was soon in action dealing with a Joe Leesley centre.

After Town skipper, Ben Parker, had made a fine tackle to halt Scott Boden’s strong run, at the other end ,the unmarked Beck headed wide from Leesley’s cross.

With Kerry, Liam Agnew and Josh Falkingham controlling midfield, Town began to create chances.

Beck shot wide of the goal after picking up a weak clearance fron Doug Tharme and George Thomson hit a twenty yard drive narrowly over the bar.

The Welshmen proved that they were far from a spent force,as firstly,a Boden header brought out a flying save from James Belshaw and minutes later, the Town custodian had to bravely dive at the feet of George Miller to end his dangerous run.

However, it was Town who gained an interval lead,when after fortyone minutes,Thomson crossed from the right and Beck flicked a header past Dibble.

After Beck had headed wide from a Thomson corner, Wrexham began to press for an equaliser, but the Town defence, with Terry Kennedy and Warren Burrell outstanding,held firm.

With twenty minutes left, Town almost guaranteed victory when Ryan Fallowfield’s deep centre from the right touchline was headed in at the far post by Beck.

A late rally by Wrexham,saw sub Ferdinand Takyi square for fellow sub, Cameron McGregor, to crash a shot against Town’s crossbar, and then McGregor again went close with a powerful drive over the top.

But it’s Town who will be in the next round,which will be played on the 13 January.


Belshaw, Fallowfield, Parker (c), Falkingham, Kennedy, Burrell, Thomson, Kerry(Hudson 72), Beck (Swain 89),Agnew, Leesley.

Unused sub, Thewlis, Cracknell, Vann
Scorer, Beck 41,69


Dibble, Hurst, Mackreth, Massanka (Burrows 52),Miller,Carrington (c), Roberts,Boden(Takyi 52), Smith(McGregor 78),Tharme,Williams.
Unused subs, Dunn, Barratt.

Booking Smith             Att.1370


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.