Interim review of polling districts and polling places

21 August 2017

An interim review of polling districts and polling places in the Harrogate Borough Council area begins today (Monday 21 August 2017).

Final recommendations from a recent review of the electoral arrangements for Harrogate Borough Council by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England were published in December 2016. As a result of the review, from May 2018 the council will be represented by 40 councillors serving 40 single member wards. Currently there are 54 Councillors representing 35 wards across the district.



The final recommendations and an interactive map of the current and new borough council division boundaries in Harrogate are available to view on the Boundary Commission’s website at



To take account of the new ward boundaries, it is now necessary to review polling districts, places and stations. Polling districts are the area within which electors are assigned to a particular polling place and polling places are the locations of buildings in which polling stations are established.

A number of draft proposals for future polling arrangements throughout the Harrogate district are being put forward and Harrogate Borough Council is looking for views on those proposals through a six week public consultation which will run from 21 August to 18 September 2017. The feedback from the consultation will be considered by the council’s General Purposes Committee, which will make a decision on polling districts, places and stations on 5 October 2017.

To have your say on the draft proposals, go to



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop