Harrogate Railway Athletic 0 – 4 Harrogate Town

11 August 2013

Harrogate Town retained the John Smith’s Cup with a comfortable victory over Railway Athletic Town.

They went ahead within two minutes of the kick off, when Liam Hardy broke through and calmly sidefooted past Chris Burrows into the far corner.

Town were dominant in the opening exchanges, and went further ahead when Adam Bolder scored from the penalty spot after Hardy was brought down by Simon Wood.

Town’s Chris Hall fired over the bar, then forced a brilliant save from Burrows to keep out his header from an Adam Nowakowski cross.

Railway ,prompted by strong runs from Robbie Youhill and Craig Radcliffe, tried to claw their way back, with Youhill shooting narrowly wide.

However, Town increased their lead after 36 minutes when a Dave Merris free kick was met with a towering header from Nowakowski and Hall netted from close range.

Harrogate Town Vs Railway 2

Railway,with Tino Chibharo showing some nice touches,pushed forward,but were unable to breach the Town defence.

A more even second half saw Radcliffe and sub Francis Anyhnwu shoot straight at Craig MacGillivray.

Town, who used all eight substitutes in the course of the match,including keeper, Peter Crook,in an outfield role,continued to create the lion’s share of chances.

Nathan Cartman did well to deflect a Shane Killock header over his own bar and Ashley Worsfold forced Burrows to save well at the foot of the post.

On 68 minutes a superb crossfield pass from sub Colin Hunter dispatched Youhill down the right wing,but Anyhnwu could only hit his centre weakly at MacGillivray.

Harrogate Town vs Railway

A minute later, the result was put beyond any remaining doubt, when Killock’s header from a corner rebounded off the upright and Worsfold followed up from close range.

Railway had two late chances to reduce the arrears.

Firstly,Simon Wood’s late strike was turned round the post by MacGillivray and then Anyhnwu was inches high with a clever chip,after he had latched on to Hunter’s through ball.

Att.302. Town scorers Hardy 2 mins,Bolder 9 penalty,Hall 36,Worsfold 69.


Harrogate Town AFC


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop