Batsmen smash the Bowlers for 9

12 April 2013

In order to secure the Harrogate premier title for a third straight year the Bilton Batsmen only needed 3 points from the derby match against the Bilton Bowlers on Wednesday night at Bilton CC.

First to the oche was boy mountain Lewis ‘Chunk’ Pride, who made short work of the first set winning 2-0 including a 20 dart leg. Next up fresh from his battle with the real Phil Taylor was Harrogate’s own Phil Taylor. The Powder showed little form, but scrapped through 2-0. Alex Pride started his match in fine form with a 23 dart leg, although soon realised that if he won, the title stayed with the Batsmen. Did a few nerves creep in, we’ll never know as he chipped out to gaggle of woop, woop’s.


Nick Hanslow 2011/12 Player of the Year
Nick Hanslow 2011/12 Player of the Year


With the title now firmly in the hands of the Batsmen the remaining players could relax and enjoy the night, however there was still old scores to be settled including Tony Sharratt v Dave Proctor! Sharratt had the throw and finished the first leg in 21 darts and with Proctor crumbled from the power scoring of Sharratt, he followed it again with another 21 darter to take the set 2-0.

The Bowlers Paul Yates managed to take a leg off opponent Lee Swales in 25 darts before Swales rallied to ensure his reputation remained intact taking the next two legs for a 2-1 win.

Last man up Graham Hoggarth has one eye on the Player of the Year for the highest average and set a good pace opening with a 180 and finishing in 17 darts. He backed that up with a 24 dart leg to help boost his season’s average to apply some pressure on last year’s winner Nick Hanlsow.

The Batsmen took all 3 points in the pairs with winning legs of 31, 37 and 28 darts for the overall 9-0 win.

Captain Lee Swales commented on the Batsmen’s victory after the post-match banquet and celebrations by saying, “Thanks lads, it been a pleasure – again………”

Other games of note in the league this week included a fantastic 16 Dart leg from Shaun Sowray (Manhattan Dales) with 8 ton plus scores in his 3 legs and an impressive 4 ton score was achieved in a 22 dart leg from Keith Powell (Harrogate Conservative Club). Paul Sommerville (Hgte Cons) 112 check out but lost out 2-1 to veteran Colin Ingles. Nick Hanslow (Lonsborough Club) 180 in the quickest leg of the night, 18 darts.

Both the First and Second division title look settled, but with 2 games to go, the scramble for second place honours and promotion will continue to the last games.

Division 1

Trades Hall v Skipton ‘B’ (Not known at this time)

Londesboro Club 6 – 3 Harrogate Conservative Club

Bilton Bowlers 9 – 0 Bilton Batsmen

Cons Club Mahoosive 9 – 0 Harlow Hill ‘A’

Manhattan Dales 4 – 5 Slip Inn


Division 2

Starbeck WMC 8 – 1 Tap & Spile

Harlow Hill’B’ 3 – 6 Manhattan Skyline

Harlow Inn 2 – 7 Railway Athletic

Skipton ‘C’ 2 – 7 Bilton WMC

Stonebeck 3-6 George & Dragon


Harrogate & District Darts League will be holding its annual knockout competitions this year and all entry forms have been distributed to relevant teams.

Individuals will be played on the 22nd May and Pairs the 15th May. All entries should be returned to the league committee by 3rd May 2013

2012 Pairs Champions A.Pride & L.Pride

2012 Individuals Champion C Goodman

This year’s Veterans Trophy for over 45’s will be held at the Manhattan Club on Mon 22nd April at the newly refurbished darts zone at the Manhattan Club so should be a great event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop