Gainsborough Trinity 2 – 0 Harrogate Town

25 November 2012

Harrogate Town suffered a rare reverse at the Northolme as they went out of the F A Trophy 2-0.

An even first quarter saw Town come closest to scoring when Adam Bolder’s crossfield pass found Dave Merris,

Jan Budtz found his low drive to hot to handle,but bravely blocked Adam Nowakowski’s follow up shot.

Good approach play between Trinity’s Jon D’Laryea and Terry Hawkridge gained a corner, from which Matt Bloomer was harshly adjudged to have pulled down Darryn Stamp.

Hawkridge gave Craig MacGillivray no chance with the resulting penalty.

Stamp shot over the top and MacGillivray saved a Dominic Knowles lob as Trinity pressed.

However, it was Town who finished the half on the attack.

A Merris corner caused a chaotic goalmouth scramble,before Bolder was was upended by D’Laryea just outside the box.Unfortunately for Town, his superbly struck free kick rebounded off the upright.

Another Merris free kick saw a feeble Budtz punch put his side under pressure,but the combined efforts of Chib Chilaka,Dan Clayton and Paul Beesley couldn’t force the ball over the line.

The first action of the second half saw Chilaka send skipper Paul Bolland clear, but Budtz easily saved his weak lob.

An explosive six minutes resulted in Alan White receive his marching orders when he was alleged to have headbutted Phil Stamp, an offence that was only noticed by the Assistant Referee on the far side of the ground.

Trinity’s Josh Wilde was then red carded by the over officious Referee Darren England, for a second bookable offence, after bringing down Chilaka.

Town,generalled by Bolder, mounted attack after attack in an effort to equalise.

Bolder and Bolland shot wide, before Budtz did well to parry a tremendous Beesley strike.

Subs Jonny Allan and Leon Osborne went close,but it was Trinity’s Paul Conner who broke clear in the final minute of stoppage time to put them into the next round.

Harrogate Town 1 MacGillivray 2 Elam 3 Merris 4 Bolder 5 White 6 Bloomer 7 Nowakowski 8 Bolland (c) (Allan 78) 9 Chilaka (Osborne 71) 10 Beesley 11 Clayton (Dean 56)

Unused subs 16 Liam Hardy 18 Jose Da Veiga.

Sent off White, Booked Nowakowski.

Attendance 386


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop