Knaresborough Bed Race 2011


The 2011 Knaresborough Bed Race took place on the 11th June with the usual capacity crowds arriving to watch.

Knaresborough MP, Andrew Jones, was part of the judging panel. Mr Jones helped to judge the best dressed bed, won by ‘Lido Loonies’ who kitted their bed out at HMS Endeavour in line with this year’s British history theme. Mr Jones was also part of the judging panel for the most entertaining bed competition during the parade, which was won by ‘Procter and Gamble Team 1’. The official winners of the bed race itself was the ‘Harrogate Harriers’ who came second in the 2010 bed race.

Mr Jones said: “I always enjoy the Bed Race. It is a real highlight of the year. There is always so much community spirit in the event – whether it is the dressing of the beds, the fun of the parade or the hard work of the race itself. I thought the creativity and humour in the dressing of the beds was fantastic. So much money is raised for local charities too. It shows the generosity of the Knaresborough community and is a testament to the efforts of Knaresborough Lions who put so much work into staging the event.”

This years results:

Fastest Team Harrogate Harriers Time 14.24 minutes

Fastest Female Team HPL Flyers Time 15.56 minutes

Fastest Mixed Team Logic Fire &Security Time 20.18 minutes

Fastest Junior Male Piccadilly Men Time 17.15 minutes

Fastest Junior Female Ice Maidens Time 22.20 minutes

Fastest New Team Belzona Bullets Time 17.13 minutes

Best Dressed Bed: Lido Loonies, (Second Meadowside Maidens, third Churches Together)

Most Entertaining Team: Proctor & Gamble 1

Sandra Bradley Trophy for Most Money Raised for Charity and Piccadilly Trophy for Best Sponsored Non-corporate Team both won by St John’s Juggernauts

Brian Hiscoe Trophy for Outstanding Contribution to Bed Race, Alan Walgate, an organiser of Bed Race for many years and the event’s Chief Safety Officer

full results here

Photography by Sean Atkinson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.