Theakston Nidderdale League Celebrate the 2016 Season

20 October 2016

After outgrowing its previous venue, this year’s Theakston Nidderdale League End of Season Presentation Dinner has a new look venue and will take place at The Pavilions of Harrogate on Friday the 18 November 2016.

Trophies and awards will be presented followed by comedian Gary Marshall and Sky Sports pundit and ex- Kent captain David Fulton who will entertain us to finish off the evening.

All clubs and life members have received invitations and it promises to be a fabulous night celebrating the achievements of the season.

Theakston Player of the Year goes to Wath and Melmerby’s Bobby Hillton for his stellar year scoring 1,108 runs and taking 42 wickets.

The Theakston Hospitality award goes to North Stainley.

Champions Ouseburn will receive the Division One trophy.

Three new trophies will be awarded this year. The Wilf Wigglesworth Trophy for Most Wickets in a Season goes to Simon Taylor of Boroughbridge and Staveley who bagged 49 scalps. Dacre Banks’ Chris Eckford took 33 dismissals behind the stumps and received the Eric and Alex Houseman Trophy. Bobby Hilton takes the Erik Thompson Trophy for Most Runs in a Season with 1,108.

James Riley takes the Albert Willis Trophy for the highest score of the season. Riley hit 224* against Hampsthwaite whilst playing for Birstwith. Burton Leonard’s overseas star, Nicky Smith, takes the other Willis Trophy after taking 9/23 also against Hampsthwaite.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop