Harrogate Town v Thackley

3 December 2014

The 128 hardy souls who braved the cold, saw Harrogate Town sweep aside Thackley to set up a home West Riding County Cup semi-final against Garforth F C.

Simon Weaver fielded a strong squad,while also giving three development squad members a place on the subs bench.

Town soon rocked Thackley back on to their heels when Louis Swain scored from a Craig Nelthorpe corner after only seven minutes.

Adam Nowakowski and Lloyd Kerry were dominating the midfield as Town pushed for a second goal,but the team suffered a thirtyfifth minute setback when Leigh Franks had to limp off with a pulled hamstring to be replaced by Jack Emmett.

The second goal duly arrived on 38 minutes when Nelthorpe found Alex Metcalfe and Nowakowski headed in his cross.

On 57 minutes,Jake Speight was replaced by Simon Lenighan and his first contribution was to create an opening for Swain who beat the diving keeper with a powerful shot.

Rob Worrall replaced Kerry on 72 minutes and three minutes later Ryan Farrell pulled one back for Thackley with a well taken goal.

It was to little to late,and Nowakowski sealed the win with a strong strike with only two minutes left.

Harrogate Town 4 Thackley 1

1 Crook,2 Turner, 3 Nelthorpe, 4 Franks (c),(Emmett 35), 5 Bloomer, 6 Dean, 7 Kerry (Worrall 72), 8 Nowakowski, 9 Speight (Lenighan 57), 10 Swain, 11 Metcalfe.
Unused subs,14 Dom Rowe,17 Brad Walker.
Scorers,Swain (7,59),Nowakowski (38,88). Att.128
By John Harrison.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop