Theakston Nidderdale League Finals Day

4 mins read
Please share the news

In a new format for 2012, finals day saw three cup finals on one day, hosted by Knaresborough Forest Cricket Club. With just 10 minutes to go before the start of the Peter Bentley Cup between Little Ribston and Newton-le-Willows, the heavens opened and everyone ran for cover. However, the shower soon passed and the game started on time. Newton-le-Willows batted first and had Dan Wilkinson to thank for his unbeaten knock of 119. Lawson took 2-38 and Ted Daniel 2-29. Newton posted 168-4 from their 20 overs. Little Ribston, playing in their first Nidderdale League cup final put up a good fight with Ted Daniel at the top of the order making 68. Ribston lost wickets at regular intervals and were bowled out for 131. McGregor 2-18, Yates-Brown 2-46, Hodges 2-25 and Wilkinson 2-1 bowled well for Newton. Man of the match was Dan Wilkinson for his 119* and 2 wickets.

The second game was the Wath Cup between Goldsborough 2nds and Boroughbridge. In a lower scoring game, Boroughbridge posted 102 all out. L Fletcher top scored with 63. Henry Saul seems to be a great prospect for the future, watch out for him in years to come as he continues the legendary Saul production line at ‘boro. He took 5-23 including a cup final hattrick. The Goldsborough reply got off to a bad start as Ian Short went for a duck and never really got going. Jow Waterhouse top scored with 24. Journeyman cricketer John Sixsmith took 4-18 in a display of bowling that the crowd could not believe, Paul Norfolk took 3-16 and J Fletcher 3-12. Goldsborough were dismissed for 71 and Boroughbridge raised the trophy. Henry Saul took the Man of the Match award.

Sharow then took on Pateley Bridge in the Barrett Cup. Batting first, Pateley posted 165-1. Tom Simpson was the man out for 22. Captain Michael Eglin (58*) and Miles Sutton (67*) put on 140 for an unbeaten second wicket. The Shaorw reply also faltered as Andy Colley was trapped LBW by Eglin for 4. Craig Sommerville (24) and Adie Monk (81) tried to push the Sharow total on but after Sommerville holed out the rest of the line-up could not get things going. Tom Clements took 3-36 and John Thompson 3-19 Michael Eglin lifted the winner’s trophy and also took the Man of the Match award.

A grand day at Knaresborough Forest with the sun making an appearance at last after a dismal season so far. A big thank you to all at Knaresborough Forest Cricket Club, the 6 teams, the 6 umpires and scorers and the Union Pub for providing the liquid refreshment and grandstand view.

Sunday 5th August sees the final of the Atkinson Swires Cup at Studley Royal Cricket Club between Masham and current cup holders Blubberhouses. The game is a 2pm start and there is plenty of great viewing at the ground and the usual hospitality will be on offer.

Pateley Bridge CC
Pateley Bridge CC


Newton-le-Willows CC
Newton-le-Willows CC

Please share the news
Previous Story

Local courier firm packs a punch

Next Story

Harrogate Railway Athletic 0 – 1 Harrogate Town

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.