‘Rock the House’ local line-up announced

4 mins read
Please share the news

The final line-up from the Harrogate & Knaresborough constituency for the national Rock the House competition has been announced. The entrants are now up against other acts from all over the UK to qualify for a battle of the bands final and to play at the House of Commons on 30 May.

Andrew Jones MP meets Unknown SocietyAndrew Jones MP meets Unknown Society 


Now in its second year, the Parliamentary competition celebrates the very best of up-and-coming unsigned British artists. It aims to raise the political profile among parliamentarians of the importance of intellectual property rights and copyright for musicians. Each MP in the UK is invited to nominate a solo artist, a band and an under-18s act. A panel of international music experts and musicians will determine the finalists for the battle of the bands. The winners in each category will play a live set on the terrace of the House of Commons and win once-in a-lifetime prizes.

Entrants from the Harrogate & Knaresborough constituency (with YouTube links in brackets) are:

Andrew Jones MP said:

This competition aims to raise the profile of live music and intellectual property rights issues in Parliament. But it does much more than that. It helps MPs to see more of the diverse talent in their constituencies and showcases aspiring young individuals in front of the big names in the music industry.

The quality of entries from Harrogate & Knaresborough was particularly encouraging and I am hopeful that The Crafters, Unknown Society and Chris Moretti are set to do well in the competition.

In only its second year running, Rock the House has dwarfed all other Parliamentary competitions and become the most participated-in Parliamentary competition with 165 MPs submitting nominations – including the Prime Minister David Cameron.

The competition sees MPs nominate the best live bands and solo artists from their constituencies to be considered by the all-star panel of judges, including:

  • Mark Hoppus (Blink 182)
  • Charlie Simpson (Fightstar)
  • Tony Moore (Bedford)
  • Alex Milas (Editor, Metal Hammer)
  • Scott Rowley (Editor, Classic Rock)
  • Andrew Daw (Universal Music Group International)
  • Jon Keats (Cavern Club)
  • Paul McManus (Chief Executive, Music Industries Association)
  • Mark Fuller (Sanctum)
  • Pablo Ettinger (Caffe Nero)
  • Paul Fletcher (EMI)
  • David Pick (Vintage TV)
  • Ben Cooper (BBC Radio 1 Controller)
  • Ian Moss (BPI)
  • Tim Ingham (Editor, Music Week)

The finalists will be announced on 23 May, with the live finals competition being held on 30 May. Winners will be invited to play a live set on the terrace of the House of Commons in the evening.

The prizes for the competition winners include numerous opportunities for live performance, including:

  • A live Battle of the Bands in front of industry heavyweights;
  • Performing live on the terrace of the House of Commons;
  • Festival appearances (subject to genre) at Download, Cornbury and others;
  • A spot at the legendary Bedford pub in Balham; and
  • At selected Cafe Neros throughout the UK.


Please share the news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.