Harrogate Town FC

Harrogate Town 1 – 3 Bradford Park Avenue


Harrogate Town FCTwo goals in extra time by Bradford’s Tom Greaves ended Harrogate Town’s hopes in this years County Cup.

Lee Elam’s slip in the 6th minute let in Nathan Hotte, but luckily for Town, he shot weakly at Mark Cook.

A minute later Avenue took the lead when Jordan Deacey’s 25 yard free kick took a slight deflection as it crept in.

Avenue seemed to adapt better to the greasy conditions and a powerful run by ex Townie Richard Marshall ,resulted in Paul Heckingbottom conceding a corner, which skipper, James Knowles headed wide.

Elam worked tirelessly to galvanise Town,but it took a 45th minute penalty to open their account. A superb through ball by Chib Chilaka saw James Riley bring down Will Turl and Chilaka blasted home from the spot.

Avenue started the second half with Matty James breaking through and squaring to Greaves, who was foiled by an excellent block by Jake Picton.

However, on 73 minutes, Town thought that they had taken the lead when Elam’s free kick resulted in a remarkable bout of head tennis in which Chilaka appeared to force the ball over the line, only for Referee Rob Madley to wave play on, much to the ire of the home fans behind the goal.

Meechan, Clayton and Youhill replaced Emmett, Elam and Chilaka but the score remained level after ninety minutes.

Park Avenue’s lone sub,Mark Hume,appeared for extra time and on 99 minutes they took the lead.Mark Cook made a brilliant block but the Town defence failed to clear and Tom Greaves drove into the net.

Youhill had a shot tipped over by John Lamb and then was wide with a free kick as Town hit back, but with three minutes left Greaves scored from a narrow angle, to give Park Avenue a passport into the final.

Town 1 Cook 2 Picton 3 Radcliffe 4 Bloomer 5 White (c) 6 Heckingbottom 7 Elam (Clayton 84) 8 Bolland 9 Turl 10 Chilaka(Youhill 84) 11 Emmett( Meechan 76)

Unused subs 14 Brayson 18 Pell

Scorer Chilaka 45. Bookings Bloomer Att 168

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.