Knaresborough’s quirky Bed Race gets MP’s vote

2 mins read
Please share the news

Last Updated on

joined Knaresborough residents to vote online for ‘The Great Knaresborough Bed Race’ to be shortlisted to win the Where Else but England award 2011.

Stand by your beds: Andrew Jones MP joins Knaresborough residents to vote online for the Great Knaresborough Bed Race
Stand by your beds: joins Knaresborough residents to vote online for the Great Knaresborough Bed Race


The Where Else but England award is part of VisitEngland’s Enjoy England for Excellence, celebrating all things quirky and unique in England from Eel Throwing to Asparagus festivals. These prestigious tourism currently in their 22nd year celebrate the very best the country has to offer. Knaresborough’s own unique and popular , ‘The Great Knaresborough Bed Race’, was nominated as a potential winner by the Welcome to Yorkshire Tourist Board.

Mr Jones said: “The world famous Great Knaresborough Bed Race is a colourful and quirky , uniting the town as much as it does the teams competing. Like many people from our area and afar, I enjoy watching the teams push their beds through streams, up hills and around the town at a whirlwind pace – last year I was even lucky enough to the starting gun!

I think the Bed Race has a good chance of winning this award as it truly encompasses all that is wonderful about English traditions. I would encourage all residents to show their commitment and vote for the Bed Race.”

Last year’s winner was the World Egg Throwing Championships and other entries this year include cheese rolling, lying and nettle eating competitions and the wonderfully named Dwyle Flonking. You can vote for the Great Knaresborough Bed Race to be shortlisted to win at

Six tourist attractions from the Welcome to Yorkshire Region have already been shortlisted as finalists for the Enjoy England for Excellence 2011. This includes Harrogate’s RHS Garden Harlow Carr, shortlisted to win the Large Visitor Attraction award with over 100,000 visitors a year. The overall winners of each category will be announced at a ceremony in Birmingham on 15 April 2011.


Please share the news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Default thumbnail
Previous Story

Bahrain – An insider’s view by Harrogate man as protesters turn on expats

Next Story

Hot off the press: Henshaws expands business offering with print service