Some of this year’s sixth formers who returned to school to receive prizes
Some of this year’s sixth formers who returned to school to receive prizes

RGS’s talented students destined to be future leaders, says Sir Gary

20 November 2018

Sir Gary Verity has urged high-attaining students at the top-performing state school in the North to go out and achieve great things to make the world a better place.

The Welcome to Yorkshire tourism boss told record-breaking A-level and outstanding GCSE students at Ripon Grammar School’s annual prize-giving ceremony they were destined to be our future leaders.


Sir Gary, who brought the Tour de France to Yorkshire and was knighted for his services to tourism, told them:

You are the most talented group I have probably ever addressed. And that is saying something.


The awards presentation marked another year of exceptional results for the school, with students achieving 95% of GCSEs at grades A*-B/9-5 and 79.5% of A-levels at grades A*-B.

This year’s sixth form leavers, whose impressive performance broke all RGS records, returned to their old school to take pride of place in front of a packed hall, filled with parents, civic dignitaries, governors and staff.

The former pupils, most now studying at elite Russell Group universities, were joined by those students who excelled in their GCSEs in the summer, achieving some of the best results RGS has ever seen.

But the audience hadn’t gathered to celebrate academic achievements alone. The school is also renowned for its sports, music, drama and community and volunteering work and students received special awards for excelling in these areas.



Sir Gary Verity, headmaster Jonathan Webb, chair of governors Elizabeth Jarvis
Sir Gary Verity, headmaster Jonathan Webb, chair of governors Elizabeth Jarvis


Among the school’s new alumni are medics, dentists, vets, engineers, economists and historians, studying at universities including Durham, Edinburgh, Newcastle, York, London’s Imperial College, Oxford and Cambridge.

Others are reading subjects as diverse as commercial pilot training, international relations, marine technology, creative writing, astrophysics, fashion merchandising and aerospace engineering, while a number have taken up high-level apprenticeships in business, accounting and with ITV.


Sir Gary told them:

You have received the greatest start in life from your education here, in this city at this fantastic school, a great Yorkshire school. I think this is a really special place.

All of you have been equipped to be the next generation of leaders in our world. It is now looking towards you to take things forward. Reflect on how you are going to change the world for the better.


Sir Gary presented prizes to those A-level students who achieved four A*-A passes or three A*-A plus a B grade, as well as for exceptional performances in individual subjects. GCSE students who gained a C or higher in every subject were recognised, and also given prizes for high achievements in particular subjects.



Sir Gary Verity
Sir Gary Verity
Some of RGS’s special prize winners
Some of RGS’s special prize winners


Headmaster Jonathan Webb described RGS – one of the few state schools which offers boarding – as a ‘proud Yorkshire school’, where boys and girls excel and secure their dreams.

Near the top of the tree nationally for adding value, he told the audience that latest measurements of the progress pupils make from primary school to the end of their time at Ripon Grammar School now place RGS 60th out of 6,000 schools nationally.

Following the distribution of awards, lower sixth former Anika Schwarze-Chintapatla performed a stirring rendition of Carl Maria von Weber’s Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F minor.

Sir Gary concluded:

It is important to dream and to dream big. You all have talents. You don’t have to be the best but you owe it to yourself to be the very best you can be. Have great lives and achieve great things.




The Kersey Cup for Art

Grace Withyman

The Emily Taylor Memorial Prize for Creative Writing

Clara Dammann

The Shepherd Prize for History

George Exley

The Elsie Peckett Memorial Prize for Science

Phoebe Hall

The Jim Spence Memorial Prize for Science

Finlay Pruden

The Bishop Burroughs Prize for Religious Studies

The Professor Hullah Prize for Poetry

The Cathedral Prize for Music

The School Prize for Extraordinary Progress

Anika Schwarze-Chintapatla

Aisha Preece

Emma Belward

Hannah Cave

Edward Henson

Lois Wilson


De Grey Awards – Major (4 A*/A Grades)

Ronan Chan Madeleine Charvill Louisa Chatterton Katherine Dale

Lucas Fawcett Alicia Hayden Maya Mellor Luke Rennie

Annamara Rimmer Jake Robinson Lara Sterritt Ceri Stone

Matthew Sutton James Turner Freya Whiteside

De Grey Awards – Minor (3A*/A Grades plus 1 B Grade)

Emma Bailey Mhairi Ellis Alicia McCormick-Roddis

Molly Morrell Tara Schwarze-Chintapatla Emma Sorby

Jack Stott

The Bruce Oldfield Prize for Art and Design

Phoebe Stocks

The Lewis Prize for Biology

Maya Mellor

The School Prize for Business Studies

Samuel Bosomworth

The J H Brown Memorial Prize for Chemistry

Ella Durkin

The Alan Newton Prize for Classics

Sylvia Gill

The School Prize for Economics

Annamara Rimmer

The School Prize for Design Technology

Mhairi Maxwell

The Ethel Allison Memorial Prize for English Literature

Benjamin Pimley

The Constance Gilbey Prize for French

Alice Peat

The Sir Maurice Brayshay Prize for Further Mathematics

Ceri Stone

The School Prize for Geography

Rebecca Payling

The Jolly Memorial Prize for History

Luke Brotherdale-Smith

The Wolseley Prize for Information Communication Technology

Farnaaz Ghazaani

The Mary Johnson Prize for Mathematics

Maya Mellor

The Stones Prize for Physics

Rebecca Thompson

The School Prize for Psychology

Melissa Price

The School Prize for Spanish

Caitlin Johnson

The School Prize for Religious Studies

James Turner


The David Fisher Prize for the Head of School House

Finlay Procter

The Marguerite Terry Prize for the Head of Johnson House

Emily Wilson

The Ripon High School for Girls’ Jubilee Prize for the Head Girl (2018/19)

Oluwasolabomi Sowole

The Old Riponians’ Prize for the Head Boy (2018/19)

Thomas Mewes

The Althea Charlton Trophy for Drama

Emily Reid

The Brian Stanley Cup for Engineering

Molly Morrell

The Dyson Trophy for Commitment to Music

Hannah Pease

The Operatic Society Trophy for Contributions to School Music

Oliver Bowett

The Deborah Williamson Trophy for Sport

Annabel Hill

Miss Cullingworth’s Prize for Progress in Sixth-Form Studies

Emily Leslie

The Harrogate Borough Council Prize for Progress in Sixth-Form Studies

William Langford

The Cathedral Prize for Service to the Community

Laura Crompton

The Rotary Award for Service above Self

Annissa Cook

The Alastair da Costa Award for Outstanding Female Sporting Achievement

Grace Walker

The Alastair da Costa Award for Outstanding Male Sporting Achievement

Toby Osman

The Gladys Hall Memorial Rose Bowl for Service to the School

Katherine Dale

The Philip Mortimer Trophy for Service to the School

Oluwatimilehin Oniwinde

The Bill Latto Trophy for All-Round Achievement

Maya Mellor

The Robert Atkinson Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Achievement

Annamara Rimmer

The Headmaster’s Prize for Integrity Benjamin Pimley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop