Tholthorpe 10K

14 September 2015

The twentieth annual Tholthorpe 10K road race was held on the Sunday morning of 6 September. The weather was sunny and dry with very little wind, ideal for the helpers but not so good for the runners! A total of 340 runners completed the race, which is the largest number for some years, and especially gratifying as the race coincided with the running of the Wetherby 10K. All the runners got their commemorative ‘duck’ mug, which are now getting to be collectors’ pieces.

The overall winner was Guy Bracken of North Shields Polytechnicians in a time of 33 minutes and 22 seconds, beating his winning time last year by 24 seconds. The runner-up was Johnathan Johnson (Harrogate Harriers) in 33mins 59secs, and third was Jeff Prest (Trafford AC) in 34mins 43secs.

The first female past the post was Caroline Lambert of Wetherby Runners in a time of 37 minutes and 07 seconds, with Faye Banks (Pontefract AC) second in 39mins 18secs, and third was Angela Hannon (Pontefract AC) in 41mins 00secs.

The Male Under 40 winner was Chris Adams of East Hull Harriers in 35 minutes and 23 seconds, with Richard Ginn (Pocklington Runners) the winner in the Male Vet 40-49 category in 36 mins 09secs, Mark Whiteman (Easingwold RC) the winner in the Male Vet 50-59 category in 38mins 16secs, Neil Scuton (Scarborough AC) winning the Male Vet 60-69 category in 41mins 24secs, and Barry Pickering (Selby Striders) winning the Male Vet 70+ category in 53 minutes 40 secs.

The Female Under 35 winner was Caroline Lambert of Wetherby Runners in 37 minutes and 07 seconds, with Faye Banks (Pontefract AC) the winner in the Female Vet 35-44 category in 39mins 18secs, Angela Hannon the winner in the Female Vet 45-54 category in 41mins 00secs, Christine McCarthy (Pontefract AC) winning the Female Vet 55-64 category in 42mins 51secs, and Margaret Metcalfe (York Knavesmire Harriers) winning the Female Vet 65+ category in 51 minutes 10 secs.

The Men’s Team award was won by Shaun Lawson, Neil King and Mark Whiteman of Easingwold Running Club with 40 points. Pontefract AC won the Women’s Team award with Faye Banks, Angela Hannon and Christine McCarthy accumulating 106 points.

The First Local Male was Chris Richardson (Easingwold RC) in 39 minutes and 51 seconds, with Tara Chintapalata (Unaffiliated) winning the First Local Female category in 46mins 15secs.

The Tholthorpe 10K race also incorporated the North Yorkshire Championships. The Male winner was Johnathan Johnson, followed by Ryan Mancrief and Richard Ginn. The Female winner was Caroline Lambert, followed by Julie Lawn and Fiona Deacon.

A special Outstanding Achievement Award was presented to Marion Codling of Thirsk and Sowerby Harriers. Marion has been a stalwart of the Tholthorpe 10K over the years as well as supporting other local races. She admits she may not be one of the fastest, but no one can fault her enthusiasm. Tholthorpe 10K appreciates her continuing support for the race.

The organisers would like to thank all those who took part, all the helpers (over 50 from a village of 200 people!), and the sponsors. The main sponsor of the Tholthorpe 10K was Stephensons of Easingwold (Coaches for All Occasions). The race was also sponsored by Topp & Co Great Britain, John Ruddock Motor Vehicle Repairs, The New Inn Tholthorpe, Wernick Refurbished Buildings, Andrew Reynard Farms Tholthorpe, Artisan Precision Machining, Acaster Steel Ltd, Orangery Solutions, Chapman Auto Repairs, and Easi Recycling. We would also like to express our appreciation to Gradcracker of Easingwold for continuing to maintain our website .

The race raised a record total of £2,250 to be donated to Tholthorpe village hall to go towards its maintenance.

The Tholthorpe 10K always takes place on the first Sunday in September, so make a date in your diary for the twenty-first running of the Tholthorpe 10K on 4 September 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Go toTop