Buckingham Palace

New Year Honours List 2012

Please share the news


Buckingham Palace

The New Year Honours List 2012 has been announced with acknowledgement for many people in the region.

Order of the British Empire have been awarded to:-

Mrs ROSS Patricia Ann – For services to Carers through Crossroads Care in , Craven and .

Mrs Mary Webster – For services to Music and Education in Kirkby Overblow and Harrogate.

Stephen Peter HATCHER – Deputy Head, St Aidan’s C of E High , Harrogate. For services to Education.

Mrs Jacqueline Ann GANT – For services to the community in Bishop Thornton and Warsill.

Mrs Shelagh MORRIS – Allied Health Professions Officer and Occupational Therapist, Department of Health.

Mrs Valerie NIXON – For services to the Royal National Lifeboat Institution.

John Peter COULSON – Prison Officer, HM Young Offenders’ Institution , Ministry of Justice.


CBEs have also been awarded to Ronnie Corbett, actress Helena Bonham-Carter and the author and broadcaster Clive James.

OBEs go to Dennis ‘Dickie’ Bird, the retired cricket umpire, for services to sport and , to Alex Crawford, for journalism, particularly for her live coverage of conflict in Libya and TV presenter Lorraine Kelly for services to and the Armed Forces.

MBEs go to radio presenter David Rodigan and to the actor David Harewood.

Nigel Mansell, the former Formula 1 champion, is awarded a CBE for his work with children and young people as president of the UK Youth

John Armitt, who now chairs the Olympic Delivery Authority, is knighted and Howard Shiplee – who oversaw the  Olympic construction project is made a CBE.


Please share the news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Name released of man who died as a result of the collision on the A1 near Allerton Park

Next Story

Swimarathon will benefit Rotary’s Polio eradication campaign