Where the cold winds blow – Harrogate Philharmonic Orchestra concert

Please share the news

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 13/10/2018
7:30pm - 10:00pm

Wesley Chapel

Oxford Street
North Yorkshire

The principal wind players, usually hidden at the back of the orchestra, will take centre stage at Harrogate Philharmonic Orchestra’s first concert of the 2018/19 season. Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante for four Winds showcases the oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn, each taking turns in starring and supportive roles.

The concert, on Saturday 13 October at 7:30pm in the Wesley Chapel, Oxford Street, Harrogate, will open with a miniature Symphony by Mozart (No.32) and close with Debussy’s Suite Bergamasque et Danse, featuring the ever-popular tune “Clair de lune” (“Moonlight.”)

The orchestra will be repeating this concert on the afternoon of Sunday 14 October at the Galtres Centre in Easingwold, bringing the experience of a live orchestral performance to a wider audience.

Tickets are available in advance from the website www.harrogatephilharmonicorchestra.org.uk (with Paypal), P&C Music in Harrogate and Castlegate Books in Knaresborough and on the door priced at £12 for adults (£11 in advance by paypal), £5 students with cards and under 16s and carers assisting wheelchair users are free. Season tickets are £30.

The orchestra (HPO) is keen to support young musicians in the area, many of whom will go on to a career in music. It gives them the chance to gain invaluable experience on the concert platform.



Please share the news


Support the Harrogate Informer

The Harrogate Informer is asking our readers to support local independent journalism.

We are editorially independent and publish without bias or influence – there is not a rich investor or shareholders that we answer to.

Good journalism is a valuable part of a community, but we want to do more.

Good journalism is about meeting people and covering a story. Our aim is to offer a wide range of news items and present them in an interesting way for all ages.

We are asking our readers to make a small donation, either as a one-off donation or a regular donation each month. Support can be from as little as £1

All contributions are appreciated, whether big or small. It enables us to expand the work that we are already doing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Alfie Moore..Getting Away with Murder

Next Story

Burlesque Bonanza - Solo Round